My Top 4 Books of 2016

In the words of Baron de Montesquiei “A fondness for reading changes the inevitable dull hours of our life into exquisite hours of delight”.

One of my New Year Resolutions for 2016 was to read as many books as I can, as a step towards expanding my knowledge as well as self-betterment. So I was delighted to be introduced to Goodreads by a friend, where I could explore what books my friends are reading, read reviews, add books to my “to-read” lists as well as get recommendations on books I can read based on my tastes.

I setup a 2016 Reading Challenge for myself with a target of 22 books to read this year. I am delighted to write that I have completed reading 21 books for this year, all of which were carefully selected using Goodreads ratings, Reviews from readers, as well as referencing other people’ recommendations of must-read books.

These top 4 books below are simply the ones that I loved, made me think in new ways, and kept me up reading long past when I should have gone to sleep. As I curl up on my sofa with the 22nd book of this year ( P.G. WodeHouse’s Plum Pie) , I hope you find atleast one of these books here below that inspires you to go off the beaten path when you get sometime for yourself this coming new year.

The Rosie Project
By Graeme Simsion
16181775

This hilarious, feel-good novel was a pleasant surprise for me. I was hooked to it an entire weekend. It’s a fun, quirky story with a great storyline. Read it for a good laugh as well to understand the differently wired men in this world!

Interpreter of Maladies
By Jhumpa Lahiri
5439

I picked this one solely because I have not read any of the works by this award winning author. This book is a set of short stories, each filled with lessons to learn from lives in strange lands, extraordinarily empowering! Jhumpa Lahiri’s writing has so much grace and elegance with a delicate touch of feelings through words.

“As ordinary as it all appears, here are time when it is beyond my imagination”.

Prisoners of Geography: Ten Maps That Tell You Everything You Need to Know About Global Politics
By Tim Marshall
25135194

This is an outstanding work! I would suggest this book to anyone who reads foreign policies and politics and how geography dictates standpoint for countries. The facts are upto date which makes this book an excellent and relevant read.

The Happiness Project: Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun
By Gretchen Rubin
6398634

I could not finish this book as the book was full of information on how to make small changes in life that help make a positive impact. But each chapter divided by months of the year, is inspiring and has a point to prove. Reading and incorporating her suggestions in my life has definitely made me a happier person.

Leave a Reply

