A Healthier Tomorrow

First comes Love, then comes Marriage, and then comes the EXTRA 8 kgs worth fat. All the pre – wedding diet and gym goes for a toss once we complete the seven rounds around the agni. Of course as newly-wed wives, we want to try our new recipes gathered from books of Tarla Dalal and Sanjeev Kapoor, topping our food with extra ghee and oil to pamper the husbands. No wonder the nutritionists say most married couple gain serious weight during the first five years of marriage!

So when my Man of the House found it difficult to fit in his Levis jeans, I decided to take matters in my hands and made him take the ‘Weight-Heart Test at www.saffolalife.com. The results helped me chalk out steps to #ProtectHisHeart and take preventive action in time. Below I share my plan for maintaining a healthy heart.

By bidding bye to fatty snacks, I can ensure that he stays away from foodstuffs bad for his heart. For this, I plan to keep my fridge stocked with the greens, fruits and fibrous vegetables. Packing lunch for both of us ensures we eat the healthy food and not grab the oily cafeteria food. I also plan to not skip breakfast at all as breakfast helps to kick start our metabolism and helps control hunger throughout the day.

Exercising together is another way of ensuring both of us remain fit. Increased physical activity improves heart health by decreasing cholesterol and blood pressure. After a hard day of work, it’s so tempting to plop myself on the couch and relax. However now I plan to utilize this time to relax in other ways such as doing yoga, going to gym or take an evening stroll.

A healthy heart can be maintained by ensuring a stress free life. A settled married life ensures both of us to immerse ourselves in hobbies like reading books, gardening and travelling to new places. Spending quality time with my husband ensures better communication and a healthy lifestyle.
 

photo

“I am joining the Saffolalife #ProtectHerHeart initiative and pledging my support to better heart health in Association with BlogAdda.”

Leave a Reply

